Routine

100 Word Challenge via Julia’s Place

 

His family, friends and coworkers all said returning to the routine would be the best therapy. If he could manage to put some of his life back on track, the rest would fall into place. But she was the routine. Without her, he was lost, time wobbled and quivered instead of circling regularly. All he did was for her, from the moment his eyes opened in the morning to when they closed at night.

And even then, she was with him in sleep and his dreams.

“I mean, what’s the point,” he asked.

“She was just a dog,” they said, tired of consoling him.

9 thoughts on “Routine

  1. Darn these twist endings. I was hoping it would all have been for your wife, your lover. But then, I guess I’m not that much of an animal person. Up until that last line you had me!

  2. I think animals play important roles in our routines. When that changes, it can truly throw you for a loop. When my husband took the dogs with him for a month this summer, I was at a loss for a while and felt extra lonely. That said, I find the last line frustrating because anyone truly close to him should understand that it isn’t that easy even if the loss is just a pet.

  3. I really like the style of your writing. This story touched me.

    I knew someone, at a store where I worked, who lost her dog and was subjected to some pretty mean words because her eyes would get misty at times. I tried to say something to stop the meanness, but they didn’t understand me either.

  4. There’s no such thing as “just a dog”. If you want a second opinion just ask my chihuahua :)

Leave a Reply

