Dzinski – Lollipop

Prompt courtesy of Cake.shortandsweet‘s Wednesday Write-in. I think I managed to use three of the five prompts. (I might have to revisit this and expand on the idea in the future.) Lots of other great stories if you follow the link.

Dzinski watched her walk towards his desk like the ratty carpet was some Parisian fashion runway. That hip swinging walk came naturally to her. He could tell that much. He stood up and waited for her to saunter over. She smiled. Her square, white teeth half-hidden behind lips as red and plump as summer cherries. Dzinski waved to offer her a chair and she sat sideways, legs crossed at the ankle and leaned forward on his desk.

“Word is you’re a fairly stubborn sort,” she said, interrupting his practiced introduction.

“Is that what they’re saying about me?”

“Well, I cleaned it up a little.”

Dzinski leaned back; to better appreciate the woman sitting across from him.  She was slim but loomed larger than her frame. Her expertly tousled hair looked like she rolled out of bed and into the salon. The dark makeup around her eyes made them glow. He knew he’d have to watch himself with this one. He drummed his fingers on the edge of the oak veneer of his desk.

“How can I help you, miss?” he said.

“Reagan,” she said. “But you, Mr. Dzinski, can call me Trish.”

He scribbled her name on the nearby notepad. When he looked up, she was pulling a lollipop from its wrapper.

“Aren’t you a little old for candy,” he said.

“I’m trying to quit smoking,” she said.

She settled the lollipop in her cheek as he fumbled with his pack. He gripped his lighter tight, lit a cigarette, saw the flame reflected in her green eyes. Dzinski exhaled slowly hoping to calm his heart and listened as she told him what she needed.

5 thoughts on “Dzinski – Lollipop

  1. Craig, I absolutely love this. This style, mood, atmosphere, is just up my street. The dialogue just sang, it was glorious. I tried to pick my favourite line of speech, but I just love all of it.

    The only thing, you definitely need to write more of this. It feels a bit unfinished, the set up to something longer – and something I would definitely read!

      1. I know what you mean, I wanted to continue with mine but it will just have to wait its turn.

  2. “Well, I cleaned it up a little.” is a fantastic line; it conveys a lot about both of them, and sets the tone for their relationship immediately.

Leave a Reply

