Introspection

I was once king.

That was years ago. No, decades or centuries or perhaps just a few minutes. Life speeds up or stops or tip-toes by. My time under the sun, rain and wind have calmed me, taught me to slow my mind, to release that tight ball of anger I kept in my stomach. Though I long nursed and nurtured certain fantasies, there is no room in my heart for vengeance. I no longer care who cursed me, who betrayed me, who cast me out, who sat on the throne in my place.

I only wish to go home.

 

Prompt courtesy of the Friday Fictioneers. Read more stories here.

16 thoughts on “Introspection

  1. Craig, Good story and well written. Considering his life was spared, I would guess that it was one of his sons who took over the throne. His exile was probably a worse punishment than death for an old warrior king. They would probably be afraid to let him come back. Well done.:) —Susan

  2. A strangely poignant take on the prompt and unusual for you Craig. Even the opening line “I was once king” is strangely powerful, but his ruminations on the mechanisms of power are quite telling.

Leave a Reply

