Pushing Against the Wind

“I am dressed,” he said, sprawling out on the couch.

“We have the party,” she said, making an exaggerated show of looking at her watch.

“Nah,” he said.

“Pardon?”

“Nah, I’m not going, it was something today,” Crow said,

“This has been planned for weeks.”

“I don’t have the energy to meet new people. I can’t pretend I’d care about the words coming out of their mouths, and I know whatever I said would be trite and boring, and we’d all know we’re putting on an act while the wives enjoyed themselves.”

“I just can’t get through the pantomime tonight.”

One thought on “Pushing Against the Wind

Leave a Reply

