Thump-Thump

“Catch fire and burn is the only way to live,” she said, leaning back and exhaling a lungful of thick, cloying smoke. She was loose, free, fearless.

A needle stuck straight in and drawing vitality from the veins of the world.

I was none of those things, and I think that’s why I loved her. Even though I would never say the words out loud, especially not to her. I know exactly what she’d do, she’d lean back, her hair perfectly tussled, she’d groan and say “I love you is just something people say, nothing more than a meaningless phrase.”

 

Prompt courtesy of Micro Bookends.

Leave a Reply

