Rolling Uphill

I tried, you know. I made an effort.

You never asked if it was easy, always took for granted it was something I could just slip into. Wade in. Like a lake on a nice summer day. After a few cans of beer and laying in the sun for an hour or two. Or a bed with freshly made sheets, still warm from the dryer. But it wasn’t.

You’ll never believe how hard I tried. How bad I wanted it. To love you. I know. I’d said it.

No matter what shape my lips made, my heart couldn’t match it.

Leave a Reply

