Clutch

She said the things she liked about me, were the same things that meant we could never be together. She wanted to know if I understood. I didn’t and said as much. I said more things. Then I shouted some.

Looking back, I think I did this so she couldn’t hear my insides shatter. Hear my heart collapse. But I guess she did, and she cared enough to pretend to care just a little more. When my tantrum was over, she kissed my cheek, smiled and said she’d see me around.

A motorcycle idled on the street. She ran out.

Leave a Reply

