Fill’er Up

I’d been away most of the fall and winter. Work. Travelling. Back and forth across the province. Up and down. Nothing but pine trees. Interrupted every hundred miles or so by a couple of houses around a service station.  Made me tense. I’d have two days home, and all I’d do is sleep. Or yell at the kid for waking me. Or get yelled at by the wife.

Spring came. Work slowed. And they let me go. Ass half-busted and lungs full of fumes. Thanks, but see you, they said.

Pump gas now. Watch the other guys come and go.

Leave a Reply

