Plenty of Fluids

The weather channel issued a humidity warning. Old people and kids should stay away from the heat. The library was air-conditioned and full of both.

Bear encountered an old man laying on a cot, hawaiian shirt almost completely unbuttoned and sipping on a can of beer in the M-N fiction section.

“Don’t mind me,” he said.

“It’s just that I think the book I’m looking for is behind you,” Bear said.

The old man wrestled himself up to his elbows, lifted his sunglasses and looked Bear over.

“I suppose I could stretch my legs a little. C’mere. Help me up.”

 

2 thoughts on “Plenty of Fluids

Leave a Reply

