Numbers Game: Flash Fiction Challenge

Challenge found at Terrible Minds by Chuck Wendig. 100 word story using three of either: “enzyme, ivy, bishop, blister or lollipop.”

The autumn afternoon was grey and cold. Abby wore a thick sweater and had a large mug of bishop to warm her. The earthy smell of cloves and oranges complimented the reds and yellows of the leaves remaining on the maple tree. She and Kathleen were in the backyard talking while preparing her plants for the winter.

“Everyone changes around me,” Kathleen said sourly. “Then they leave me behind. I’m like an enzyme.”

“I have no idea what that means,” Abby said, trimming the tips of the Boston ivy that had crept over the window. “But I’m sure you’re overreacting.”

8 thoughts on “Numbers Game: Flash Fiction Challenge

  1. “I have no idea what that means, but I’m sure you’re overreacting.”

    Love it, in fact it’s highly likely I’ll use that phrase at work.

  2. Hmmm scene II – Kathleen wacks Abby with the mug, she falls and hits her head, and Kathleen has a bonfire….
    No? I enjoyed it anyway :)

Leave a comment